THE STUDIO

The team

Amélie Bourgeois

One asset
An inexhaustible creativity.
One value
Listening.
One substance
L’immortelle.

 

The smell has always been a refuge for me. As a child, I would bathe in it. I let my nose get lost in the wheat fields or in the coat of the horses I was riding. Dreamy, I found in what I breathed the source of intimate and formidable journeys. And I still do. I breathe in and out.

The refuge turned into a home when I met Monique Schlienger, an intrepid perfumer. With her and my long-time companion Anne-Sophie Behaghel, I learned the basics.

After ten years of experience, I decided, thanks to the support of Martine Denisot, to launch my own creative studio, Flair. Well surrounded, a single objective emerged: to create without limits.

Anne-Sophie Behaghel

One asset
Audacity.
One value
Optimism.
One substance
Karmawood.

 

I grew up in Paris, city of hot asphalt and crowded subways. As a child sticking his nose everywhere, I knew very early that I wanted to be a nose. After a long and difficult journey, Monique Schlienger, gives the change to my pugnacity and trains me. Amélie quickly joined me in my training. I find in her the best of accomplices. Amélie likes refined and sophisticated compositions, I like the elusive smells that shake things up.

Olfactory abstraction is essential for me. It guides my formulas. Smell allows me not to understand everything. I like to dive into its unspeakable sensations and shape them, to create a juice from which, I hope each time, one cannot detach the nose.

Camille Chemardin

One asset
Memory.
One value
Altruism.
One substance
Virginia cedar or artichoke.

 

At a very young age, my heart was torn between becoming a perfumer or Indiana Jones in a petticoat. The two could be linked: my passion for history and adventure quickly found its happiness in bottles. Everything went very quickly. As a passionate student, I entered Flair as an intern at the age of 20 and I stayed there. I was so happy there that I sometimes went more to the studio than to class.

Amélie and Anne-Sophie have perpetuated our collaboration by emphasizing my rigor, my precision and my curiosity for the perfumes of yesteryear. And it's true that I love the idea of the secret perfume that has been nurtured for centuries. There is something very mysterious about the manipulation of juices that blossoms somewhere between witchcraft and science.
fiction.

Sandra Barré

One asset
Curiosity.
One value
Empathy.
One substance
The violet.

 

I came to smell through art, and particularly through the aesthetic and artistic experience that it is possible to have while breathing. Breathing refers to the body, it is the body that smells, in both senses of the term. It inhales and exhales.

To write and theorize the history of art through smell is to create other codes and to shake up pre-established dogmas. To consider smell is to question what the eye sees, it is to prove that it is not the only one to hold the knowledge and it is to question all our oculocentric system where the eye is king.

"I strongly believe that we are neither male nor female, just a living body." Paul B. Preciado.

Martine Denisot

One asset
Avant-gardism.
One value
Humility.
One substance
The narcissus.

 

My connivance with fragrant raw materials began very early, when I "sniffed" the ivory kid glove of a very pretty grandmother. Unforgettable.

Years later, I have the privilege of spending time in the laboratory of a great Parisian perfumer. I literally get drunk on the most beautiful raw materials. I sniffed them in all directions, deconstructed them, devoured them, intertwined them, mixed them and printed them. When I met Amélie Bourgeois, my curiosity was matched by her keen and fine expertise as a perfumer. I bring to FLAIR my particular imagination.

en_GBEnglish (UK)

LE STUDIO

L’équipe

Amélie Bourgeois

Un atout
Une créativité intarissable.
Une valeur
L’écoute.
Une matière
L’immortelle.

 

L’odeur a toujours été un refuge pour moi. Enfant, je m’y baignais. Je laissais mon nez se perdre dans les champs de blé ou dans le pelage des chevaux que je montais. Rêveuse, je trouvais dans ce que je respirais la source de voyages intimes et formidables. Et c’est toujours le cas. J’inspire et je m’évade.

Le refuge s’est transformé en maison quand j’ai rencontré Monique Schlienger, parfumeur intrépride. A ses côtés et avec ma compère de toujours Anne-Sophie Behaghel, j’ai appris l’essentiel.

Après dix ans d’expérience, je décide, grâce au soutien de Martine Denisot, de lanver mon propre studio de création, Flair. Bien entourée, un seul objectif se dessine : pouvoir créer sans limites.

Anne-Sophie Behaghel

Un atout
L’audace.
Une valeur
L’optimisme.
Une matière
Le karmawood.

 

J’ai grandi à Paris, ville de l’asphalte chaud et des métros bondés. Enfant collant son nez partout, j’ai su très tôt que je voulais être Nez. Après un parcours non sans embuches, Monique Schlienger, donne le change à ma pugnacité et me forme. Rapidement Amélie me rejoint dans mon apprentissage. Je trouve en elle la meilleure des complices. Amélie aime les compositions raffinées et sophistiquées, j’aime les odeurs insaisissables qui bousculent.

L’abstraction olfactive est primordiale pour moi. C’est elle qui guide mes formules. L’odeur autorise à ne pas tout comprendre. J’aime m’engouffrer dans ses sensations indicibles et les modeler, pour en faire surgir un jus duquel, je l’espère à chaque fois, on ne pourra détacher le nez.

Camille Chemardin

Un atout
La mémoire.
Une valeur
L’altruisme.
Une matière
Le cèdre Virginie ou l’artichaut.

 

Très jeune, mon cœur balançait entre devenir parfumeur ou Indiana Jones en jupon. Les deux pouvaient se lier : ma passion de l’histoire et de l’aventure a vite trouvé son bonheur dans les flacons. Tout est allé très vite. Élève passionnée, j’entre à 20 ans en stage chez Flair et j’y reste. J’y étais tellement bien que j’allais parfois plus au studio qu’en cours.

Amélie et Anne-Sophie ont pérennisé notre collaboration en faisant valoir ma rigueur, ma précision et ma curiosité pour les parfums d’antan. Et c’est vrai que j’aime l’idée du parfum-secret qui a été nourrie depuis des siècles. La manipulation des jus a quelque chose de très mystérieux qui s’épanouit quelque part entre sorcellerie et science-
fiction.

Sandra Barré

Un atout
La curiosité.
Une valeur
L’empathie.
Une matière
La violette.

 

Je suis venue à l’odeur par l’art, et particulièrement par l’expérience esthétique et artistique qu’il est possible d’éprouver en respirant. Respirer renvoie au corps, c’est lui qui sent, dans les deux sens du terme. Il inhale et exhale.

Écrire et théoriser l’histoire de l’art par l’odeur revient à créer d’autres codes et à bousculer les dogmes préétablis. Envisager l’odeur c’est interroger ce que l’œil voit, c’est prouver qu’il n’est pas le seul à détenir la connaissance et c’est remettre en cause tout notre système oculocentré où l’œil est roi.

« Je crois fortement qu’on est ni homme, ni femme, juste un corps vivant. » Paul B. Préciado.

Martine Denisot

Un atout
L’avant-gardisme.
Une valeur
L’humilité.
Une matière
Le narcisse.

 

Ma connivence avec les matières premières odorantes s’est manifestée très tôt, en « reniflant » le gant de chevreau ivoire d’une très jolie grand-mère. Inoubliable.

Des années après, j’ai le privilège de passer du temps dans le laboratoire d’un très grand parfumeur parisien. Je me saoule littéralement des plus belles matières premières. Je les flaire dans tous les sens, les décortique, les dévore, les entrecroise, les mixe et les imprime. Quand je rencontre Amélie Bourgeois, ma curiosité s’accorde à son expertise vive et fine de parfumeur. J’apporte à FLAIR mon imaginaire particulier.